Larkrise Primary SchoolInspire Through Creativity, Kindness and Adventure.

River Learning Trust

Welcome toLarkrise Primary SchoolInspire through Creativity, Kindness and Adventure.

How does the local governing body work?

How does the local governing body work?


The River Learning Trust delegates key strategic responsibilities to the local governing body. The governors then work collaboratively with the Headteacher and senior staff to establish the vision and ethos of the school within the context of The River Learning Trust. They look at where the school is now, ask what we want the school to achieve and how are we going to achieve this. Together with the Headteacher,  and senior staff,  they use the published school performance data and additional outcomes from the school’s self-evaluation, to inform priorities in the School Improvement Plan. They set clear, ambitious targets for the school and develop policies and budget and staffing structures to achieve these aims. They also appoint the Headteacher.


The governor’s act as a critical friend to the school, reviewing the performance of the Headteacher, checking that progress is being made towards targets, and evaluating the effectiveness of policies and the School Improvement Plan. They also help celebrate the school's successes and ensure that parents/carers are involved and informed as appropriate.


Governors get to know the school through attending meetings and by visiting the school during the school day.


The governing body is organised into two sub-committees, which take responsibility for holding the Headteacher to account for the educational performance and financial performance of the school. Each governor is allocated to one of the two sub-committees and some governors take on specific responsibilities, for example, Safeguarding and Health & Safety. All governors attend the Local Governing Body Meetings. 



Impact Committee: This committee has an overview of the academic performance of the school and the children's experiences. 


Impact Committee Members: 

Sarah Pugh (Chair of Committee & Community Governor)

Evin Abrishami Community Governor)

Danielle Ballantine-Drake (Parent Governor)

Jess Berntsson (Teacher staff Governor)

Jon Gray (Headteacher)

Miriam Levene (Community Governor)

Chris Phillips (Community Governor)

Patrick Vale (Parent Governor & Chair of Governors)

Sara Zumbuhl (Support Staff Governor)

Invited: Charlotte Stewart (Deputy Headteacher)


Resources Committee: This committee has an overview of the effectiveness of the school's resources, including staffing, equipment and the building and grounds. It also has oversight over the school's budget, Health & Safety and Safeguarding.


Resources Committee Members: 

Vacant (Chair of Committee)

Jon Gray (Headteacher)

Jess Bernttson (Teaching Staff Governor)

Kate Coldwell (Parent Governor)

Beth Howley (Community Governor)

Patrick Vale (Parent Governor & Chair of Governors)

Leila Whitworth  (Parent Governor & Vice Chair)

Invited Rachel Forsyth (Business Manager)



Governors also have individual responsibilities. These governors will meet regularly with staff at the school.


Admissions: Admissions Committee (Resources Committee)


Assessment Data: Chris Phillips


Attenedance: Beth Howley


Behaviour and Attendance: Beth Howley


Communications & PR: Kate Coldwell


English: Sarah Pugh


 Equality & Diversity: Evin Abrishami


EYFS: Danielle Balantyine-Drake, 


Finance: Vacancy


Health and Safety: Vacancy 


Inspire Curricullum: Danielle Balantyine-Drake, Chris Phillips & Sarah Pugh


Mathematics: Leila Whitworth


Pupil Premium: Chris Phillips


Safeguarding: Beth Howley


SEND: Miriam Levene


Site & Resources Development: Patrick Vale 


Staffing & Appraisal: Pay Committee (Resources Committee)